Welcome to ISQua Login | Register | Contact Us

Educational Challenges and Opportunities for Evaluating Physician Competency with Professor Carla Pugh

Date:  17 April 2017

Presenter:  Carla Pugh, Professor of Surgery at the University of Wisconsin

Track 4:
 Education and Research



About the Webinar

The current gold standard for evaluating physician competency for hands-on clinical skills involves the use of observer-based checklists. However, a known weakness in this approach is that certain skills, important to overall performance, cannot be reliably tracked by a human observer. This fault in evaluation allows the possibility of rating clinicians as competent despite having critical performance deficits. What if sensors and motion tracking could be used to quantify physician performance? This webinar will explore new research demonstrating the relationship between movement metrics, data science and physician excellence.
  

Learning Objectives
By the end of this webinar, learners will be able to:

    1) List at least three benefits of sensors and motion tracking technology for clinical skills assessment

    2) Discuss the differences between human observation for clinical skills assessment and sensor technology

    3) List two differences commonly seen when comparing the motion tracking signals of novices with the motion tracking signals of experts 4) Define haptics


Intended Audience 
All healthcare professionals and administrators  


About the Presenter

Carla Pugh is currently the Susan Behrens Professor of Surgical Education and Vice-Chair of Education and Patient Safety in the Department of Surgery at University of Wisconsin, Madison. She is also Director of UW-Health’s Clinical Simulation Program. Her clinical area of expertise is Acute Care Surgery.

Dr. Pugh obtained her undergraduate degree at U.C. Berkeley in Neurobiology and her medical degree at Howard University School of Medicine. Upon completion of her surgical training at Howard University Hospital, she went to Stanford University and obtained a PhD in Education. Her research involves the use of simulation and advanced engineering technologies to develop new approaches for assessing and defining competency in clinical procedural skills.

Dr. Pugh holds two patents on the use of sensor and data acquisition technology to measure and characterize hands-on clinical skills. Currently, over two hundred medical and nursing schools are using one of her sensor enabled training tools for their students and trainees. In addition to over 5 million dollars in recent research funding, her work has received numerous awards from medical and engineering organizations.

In 2011 Dr. Pugh received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers from President Obama. She is considered to be a lead, international expert on the use of sensors and motion tracking technology for performance measurement. In 2014 she was invited to give a TEDMED talk on the potential uses of technology to transform how we measure clinical skills in medicine.

 

Time and Date


 Dublin                                      Monday, 17 April, 2017, 14:00 
 Madison  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 08:00
 London  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 14:00
 Rio de Janeiro  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 10:00
 Toronto  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 09:00
 Paris   Monday, 17 April, 2017, 15:00
 Accra   Monday, 17 April, 2017, 13:00
 Tokyo  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 22:00
 Moscow  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 16:00
 Singapore  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 21:00
 Taipei  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 21:00
 Dubai
 Monday, 17 April, 2017, 17:00
 Los Angeles  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 06:00
 New York  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 09:00
 Doha  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 16:00
 New Delhi  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 18:30
 Jeddah  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 16:00
 Riyadh  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 16:00
 Sydney  Monday, 17 April, 2017, 23:00



Registration

Registration for the live webinar is restricted to ISQua Fellowship Participants only.  If you are interested in registering for the ISQua Fellowship click here

If you would like to find out more about our Programme, please contact Eveline Holmes

Note for Fellowship Participants:

All Fellowship Programme Participants will be automatically registered for this webinar.